Some (boys) never learn.

It’s so shocking to me sometimes to witness the lack of emotion I feel upon seeing a certain name, or a certain someone’s words. Once upon a time, that would have rocked me. Once upon a time, I changed my whole life as a result of the way this person made me feel about the world, about MY world.

But now? I’ve learned. A small amount.
Enough to see through.
To see their faults, flaws, discrepancies.
Their inconsistencies, their untruths.

I can fault a human all day long for being what they are.
I still do fault them. I fault them all.

But mostly I’ve learned- and I’ve learned that it’s rarely about me.
Even when it involves me, it’s not about me.

This has been unimaginably freeing.

So.

Lofty aspirations, indeed.

Reminds me of Beijing.

Leave a Reply

